Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (2022)

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

Page 23 Reviews 640 - 670

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (1)

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (2)

Martha of Saucier, MS Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 26, 2014

The inventory in the store is always depleted or nonexistent. The cooler for ice cream is not working most of the time. It was not working when it was just installed. Finally got it going and it went out before very long. Management changes frequently, the employees complain about their work environment and there is a huge turnover as well. The Family Dollar store next door is much cleaner, and much better stocked.

10 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (3)

Debra of Apollo, PA Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 26, 2014

I can't place an order!!!!! I want to be able to order items online but can't because of the doubling & tripling of an item in my cart when I try to remove it!!!! CRAPPY SYSTEM!!!!!

8 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (4)

charles of Moweaqua, IL Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 17, 2014

My daughter fell on a wet Floor at dollar general. She was not hurt bad. When I ask manager for an incident report for my insurance co., I was told I could not have one because there was a wet Floor sign by the door. This was at dollar general in moweaqua il.

15 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (5)

SANDRA of Cookeville , Other Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 17, 2014

I shop at the Dollar General on a daily basis because it's about a mile from my home. We were bless to get a local store in Dodson Branch. However I had went in to make a purchase and the assistant manager that I will call ** was rude to me for no reason. I asked if they could make change for a $20 and I was told the clerks were not allowed to do that even if a purchase was made. The clerk did make change for me but the assistant manager Miss ** said she would never do that again for me.

I asked for my money back on the purchase and that I would shop elsewhere if they didn't have better customer service. I was told at first no return could be made to me, that it was against their policy. I demanded my money or leave the products and make a complaint. The hateful disrespectful, young, 20 something child returned my money and just gave me angry looks as others looked on.

I will never shop in another Dollar General Store. Family Dollar is who I shopped with prior to the Dollar Store so they will get my business, not the store in my community. I find the younger generation to be rude and disrespectful to people in their community and for those people that are respectful, you will go far in life. I don't need some little girl who thinks she is grown up treat me in a disrespectful way. She belongs back in her little high school click, not serving the public until she has grown up out of her childlike stage.

16 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (6)

Lori of Albuquerque, NM Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 17, 2014

I am complaining that someone called general one dollar store and ask them to have Cheyenne cigars plenty for pack or arrive new boxes. After Cheyenne cigar are gone fast, out of stock about one week, then someone bought full boxes. That's not fair how cheap about $1.85 and someone or people buy fast, gone and out of stock.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (7)

Rhonda of Eminence, MO Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 15, 2014

The DG store in Eminence, Mo is new and much needed in our small town. From the time this store opened customers are asked if they want their receipt. Of course we want our receipt in case we have to bring an item back or for the $5 coupon. It looks dishonest. This is the only DG store, or any store where I was asked if I want my receipt. There are other problems, but I believe it is because the corporation is poorly run and customer service is something the company does not care about.

10 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (8)

Karen of Hampton, GA

Original review: Aug. 9, 2014

Dollar General #6620 Manager needs retraining! This isn't my first time in this store. It's usually late afternoon. The manager ** is not at all professional. She's always talking her personal business with customers. This morning was horrible. As I am in the store she's walking around talking about how she doesn't want the guy manager there with other associates and vendors as well. If there's a problem with the team I feel it should be discussed with the team and district manager. I've been in retail 12 yrs. This behavior from her is very nasty. Customers talk and complain about her with all her personal business all the time. If she's telling something she's very loud with it. This needs to be completed asap!

12 people found this review helpful

Floydd of Pasadena, MD Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 7, 2014

I noticed my receipt did not total what the register said and I found they charged me $1 extra as a convenience fee (on the receipt). I questioned it and they said "oh yeah they're doing that now". It's a Dollar Store. I go there to save dollars, not have them taken away. I was not given the option to opt out of the transaction or anything. Not going there anymore.

9 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (10)

Princess of Atlanta , GA Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 7, 2014

I visited your Location on Moreland Avenue in the Title Maxx Plaza. On the first of every month, I pay all my bills and buy one hundred dollars worth of cleaning supplies and odds and ends etc. This particular day my sugar diabetes was high, and I had to urinate. There were two Black Young ladies in the store. The young manager, a young Black female was extra Ghetto, and on the phone on a personal phone call, when I asked to use the restroom, she said 'no' rudely. I will never spend my money in one of your stores again.

11 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (11)

Peter of Anahuac, TX Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 6, 2014

I took my 90-year-old mother to DGS. She said she didn't need me to help or tag along and that she wouldn't be long. So I pulled up to the front door to save her some steps and for her own safety. Almost immediately, I was confronted by a manager with attitude to spare yelling at me, "YOU CAN'T PARK THERE!" I told the manager that my mother was 90 years old and I didn't want her to walk across the parking lot. That didn't matter.

I did not turn off the ignition or get out of the car. Mother got out and went in and I had some words with this manager. I left to run some errands and came back to get mom. I told her, "We are not going back to DGS" and she agreed. Now I was NOT parking my car in front of the door, just letting a senior citizen out. I pulled away when she went inside the store. When I returned, I parked in the parking lot. I noticed several cars parked in handicapped zones but they had NO tags or plates. The manager didn't say a word to them!

14 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (12)

mike of Dahlonega, GA

Original review: Aug. 2, 2014

I shop/shopped at the DG in Dahlonega, GA. I was going thru my normal shopping list of items as I do every few days. When I got to check out, the last thing on my list was two packs of cigs. They didn't have the ones I normally get in stock, so I said "instead of the 100's I'll get the 120's". I then said she'll be fine with those. The lady immediately said, "I can't sell you cigarettes if they are for someone else." I thought she was joking. I'm 50 and my wife is 46. I can buy alcohol and put it in my fridge and give it to family and friends. I can walk in a store and buy a firearm and give it to my wife or whoever is legal that I would like to give it to. I left all other items on the counter and told them that they can keep it all. There is a store right next door that can handle my biz.

I was a shopper there at least 3 days a week. No more. Dollar General needs to give their management the ability to make common sense judgment calls. I was just completing a shopping list like I always do. I buy pickles for my wife and I don't eat those. I am well old enough and have proper ID to buy cigs. What I do when I get home with them is none of DG's concern. I don't smoke but I do most of the shopping for the household. I should be able to buy anything my ID permits me to. Like I said the store next door to them will now get my biz from now on.

16 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (13)

none of Pikeville, KY

Original review: Aug. 1, 2014

I usually shop at the store in Pikeville, KY on Zebulon Hwy. Lately the store has been Really Dirty. There has been empty shelves for 2.5 weeks. The workers told me they didn't care. For all they cared, someone could come in and steal everything. The bathroom has been out of order for 3 months now. I really think they need to do something about this store. Workers rude, bugs everywhere, I even saw a mouse. The pet food shelves were empty and the bag that was on the shelf had a hole like something chewed through it.

9 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (14)

Sabrina of Somerset, NJ Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 30, 2014

Was informed by a manager at a a Dollar General store in Franklin Park NJ. that a Hair care product could not be returned if tried or used. Never heard of such! All retail establishments J. Penny, Sally's, Walgreens, Walmart, CVS, etc. allow you to return hair care products that customers have tried and are not satisfied for varied reasons. Not Dollar General.

4 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (15)

Ruby of Cuba, MO

Original review: July 28, 2014

I was with a 58 year old man at G.D. in Bunkner and Cuba Missouri, both cashiers told him it was a state law to ask for I.D. to purchase cigarettes. Are you kidding me? What a load of crap, the Mo. state law is if they don't look 18, ask for I.D. General dollar stores are losing customers due to their policy. And for the cashiers, they shouldn't be greeting customers with several piercing on their face. Donna store mgr. at Cuba Mo. she is so hateful to customers, she needs to be fired so she can be taught people skills/employees..... Never buy anything from them again Ever!!!!

12 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (16)

Sarah of Gadsden, AL Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 24, 2014

I was reprimanded for removing out of date product form the shelves (over 6 mos old). I wasn't allowed to go to my car to smoke a cigarette when I had to take an hour long break. In fact, I had to serve customers while on that break. If we were busy and I didn't take one because I didn't want to work off the clock, I was "fussed" at later for it. The assistant manager (male) followed me to the restroom before it was time for me to clock in and wait outside the door wanting to tell me what needs to be done before I clocked in rushing me and trying to talk to me thru the door. The final straw was when I came out of the restroom from vomiting and he put his hand on my lower left shoulder and said that he just wanted the best for me.

12 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (17)

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (18)

Deb of Natrona Heights, PA Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 17, 2014

Lady in front of me with 2 children, her card wouldn't swipe so the lady says they just punch in the numbers and she was very rude to the lady saying, "Not here we don't" and if they do that they're gonna get in trouble. I never heard of such a thing so I waited in line ten more min and told the lady to ring me up on another register and she said no. So I left my stuff on the counter and left. She should have had more people skills not rudeness. Needless to say, I left and won't be back. And it was Dollar General in Natrona Heights, PA. I'm very angry because I was in a hurry for work and it was 845 am.

10 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (19)

sandra of Richton, MS Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 17, 2014

After browsing in the Dollar General in Runnelstown, MS and finding nothing that I wanted to buy tonight, July 16, 2014, I left. As I was leaving, a girl ahead of me knocked some suckers off of the shelf as she walked by. So, I helped her pick them up and replace them. Then, I continued on my way out. As my husband was driving away, a DG employee came running out and yelled, "Hey!" We stopped. When she came up to my window, she said, "I just noticed that you were in the store just looking around and I was told you had a purse full of stuff." I was so surprised because I am (was) a frequent shopper at DG that I just picked up my purse and opened it to show her that it only had junk in it; my junk (old receipts, index cards from where I had been studying for a test, etc.) Then, her face fell and she said, "Well, I just noticed you were just looking and reading the magazines ..." My husband spoke up and told her, "She just likes to look, but we won't be bothering you again." Before I could form a response, she turned and went back into the store. I will be contacting the district manager asap to report this customer abuse. I had been in the same store a few days ago with my grandson and spent over $50.00!!!

6 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (20)

Gail of Tehachapi, CA Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 16, 2014

Purchased a 32 oz Gatorade and immediately shook it. To my shock, all these gross floating things started swirling all around inside the bottle. My son said it looked like sperm. All I know is thank goodness I did not drink it without shaking it first. Yuck! Took the bottle back to the store.

4 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (21)

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (22)

jema of Miami , FL Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 15, 2014

I work in the shopping center in Miller Heights. I have been an insurance agent in the area for close to 20 years. This store location Is fairly new and, up until today, I have always thought the staff and managers were kind and nice and very helpful. Today was a different circumstance. I purchase cigarettes every Friday from this store location, mainly for the savings as DG sells the cigarettes for the most economical price. For unknown reasons, there were not enough cigarettes of the brand I purchase every Friday. In fact, other brands were also unavailable, which kind of seemed unusual, as I have never had this problem. I was also given, of the brands I purchase, three packs that were not the 100's brand but rather the regular short brands. I thought nothing of it when I got home and realized the cashier's mistake as the cashier is friendly nice and I consider her as well as all the other staff members at this location a friend.

When I came in on Tuesday of this week today to simply make the change out for the mistake made, I was told by a store manager I have never encountered before, by the name of Evelyn or Evy as her name tag stated, that exceptions were made for no one. Although I explained the mistake and that a change out would be all I would need of the same brand of Cigarettes in the 100's rather than the short, I was told it could not be done. I promised this manager that I would contact corporate on the issue, as I have done, as well as complained about her specifically in all ways possible as I feel I was not given the proper customer service under the circumstances. I do not know where the regular store manager is for this location, by the name of Donna, but they need to get her back. I do not believe Evy or Evelyn should be store manager at all. She should be re-trained and reconsidered for the position she has been given by Dollar General stores.

11 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (23)

lady of Ft Worth, TX

Original review: July 14, 2014

I am an employee of DG. The managers and district manager have lied to me from the beginning. I was hired for full time, yet I have never received more than 20 hours a week. When I asked about it, I was told they don't hire Full Time employees. The DM promised she would get me more hours at another store, but it has been a month and it hasn't happened. The schedule is never done before Friday night for the following day. I asked my store manager on Friday night at 7 pm when I was scheduled next and she said the schedule was not finished and she would text me to let me know. I received a text from her at 1:40 pm on Saturday telling me to be at work at 3:00 pm. (1 hour and 20 minutes notice). I live 30 minutes away and I was an hour away when I received the text.

I rushed home and made it to work at 2:59 pm, only to find out that I was scheduled at 3:30 and had to wait 30 minutes before I clocked in. I was also told by the assistant manager that the schedule was completed on Friday night and when she told the store manager that she was going to call me, she was told not to call me, that she would take care of it herself. I am currently looking for employment elsewhere, and they will not receive advance notice from me when I leave there.

They have absolutely no respect for their employees or customers. A customer asked for something that we had in the stockroom and was told that we were out of it. 5 minutes after he left the store, the product was brought out to the floor and the manager said he did not like the customer, so he was not going to get the product out for him. I use to shop DG a lot, but I will no longer shop in their stores.

22 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (24)

S of Wellford, SC

Original review: July 13, 2014

I am a new store manager, and after only 2 weeks of training in a model store, I was finally on my own. I was informed that all new store managers would begin in a model or near-model store. I wasn't disappointed. My store was clean and well stocked when I started. It goes downhill from there. After 2 months, I've got payroll where they want it, but that leaves me with only 2 people at most at any given time. I have one of the larger stores, which means it is impossible to stock when there is only one person working. Recovery is supposed to start between 4 and 6, at which point the cashier is usually backed up. I asked my full time lead how they accomplished everything prior to my hiring. She informed me that they were disregarding payroll completely. I come from a company that puts customers on a pedestal. I feel like DG pretends to care about customer satisfaction but, in reality, the bottom line is more important. It is impossible to stock, complete planograms, keep a clean store, AND have happy customers on a skeleton crew.

44 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (25)

ronald of St.Pauls,, NC Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 12, 2014

I bought a bottle of mouth wash. I gave the teller a 20 dollar bill. He says it was a 5 dollar bill. There were 3 other people that saw me hand the 20 dollar bill to him. He told me I would have to see the manager to get my money back. I had to wait and go back to the store the next day to get my refund back, 15 dollars and 47 cents. This is wrong, along with this person’s behavior. I will never go back to this store again. My family and friends won’t be going back to this.

8 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (26)

Original review: July 11, 2014

I was told by the assistant manager Ilda that they had a new manager in training. Well that manager in training has been really working hard with store. The store has improved so much. I shop here once a week and almost everyone is so nice. There is one hispanic girl always on the phone when customers are in line and speaks very badly about the new manager in training. She tells the customers she is mean to everyone and has done nothing for the store. Hey Dollar General, get rid of the girl speaking badly about coworkers, especially behind their back and to customers. Otherwise keep up the good work. Our Fort Stockton store is looking great and much nicer to go in. Make sure you keep that manager in training.

2 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (27)

keith of Hyden, KY

Original review: July 2, 2014

I am a former employee of Dollar General in Hyden, KY store #00086. And if you’re thinking of working there DON'T DO IT... unless of course you’re on drugs. Read this review and you will find out why I was recently terminated on June 27, 2014. I have read some of your comments on here and what I read was absolutely right. The company uses you and has no respect. My store manager, assistant store manager and a cashier was all three using drugs while they worked. The evidence was all over the sink and toilet in the ladies room (which we were told was for employees only) - they wouldn't try to hide it. I did my manager duty and reported the matter, which Dollar General says they are very strict on drug use at the work place - yeah right!!!

About a week and half later they found a reason to write me up again and said it was my last write up and they had to terminate me. Now there is employees and have been employees in the past with at least 7 write ups and they never said a word to them about termination and I had 3 write ups. Anyway I have got some major concerns for the company and their lower and upper class managers as well... It is a very poor company to work for. They wanted me to be clocked out at 10:15 pm every night I closed, which would have been fine if I wasn't still working on the deposit. I would work until about 10:25 to 10:30 getting the deposit ready and they would either make me clock in late the next day or would go into the system and just clock me out for that night at 10:15 pm. Anyway I have a whole bunch of legal concerns that I am going to check into with this company.

22 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (28)

Randy of San Antonio , TX

Original review: June 21, 2014

I've been working for this company for about a year now, and this company is the pits. The district managers are so far removed from the activities from the store that when they arrive, they are in complete shock as to how the store is. They fire individuals on hearsay. My store has been without management or proper staff for a month now and all our DM has to say about it is to "keep up the good work". Flat out, this company does not care about its employees. If you are not fulfilling your obligations, you will be terminated with no second guesses. Steer clear of this company. They will abuse you.

18 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (29)

julia of Chattanooga, TN

Original review: June 19, 2014

A woman named ** who works at the DGS at 3190 Highway 411 Englewood, Tennessee store number 6576, is harassing my husband of 48 years. She got his info from a purchase he made at the store and is calling him and asking him for dates and to take her to dinner and for sex. I have never had this problem before and don't know what to do. Wives watch your husbands at the DGS. **

9 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (30)

Pamela of Astoria, IL Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 2, 2014

It is bad enough that this store has to sell those trashy filthy Sports 50 Swimsuit Magazines, but when they have them at the end of the check out so ANYONE who buys any item any time in the store has to see 3 females with only their ** crack HID on the front of the magazine and 7/8 of their ** showing on the back of the magazine. It is getting ridiculous. I, for one, do NOT want to see them or want my grandchildren to see them. It would be a courtesy to shoppers to move that filth somewhere for those low life's who want to look at it and buy it can. The rest of us with morals don't want TO SEE IT.

6 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (31)

Thomas of Grovetown, GA

Original review: June 1, 2014

I was raised to not believe in asking for donations of any type. I work for Dollar General and their "Policy" is that the cashier must ask the customer if they would like to donate their change to either Literacy, Autism, tornado victims, etc. I am wondering if an employee has the right to refuse to ask for donations without receiving any type of punishment. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

17 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (32)

A. L. of Cherry Hill, NJ Verified Reviewer

Original review: May 28, 2014

I would like to file a complaint with Best Business Bureau (BBB); however, they do not have the store location listed in their website. I was harassed and was not allowed to make a purchase in the store located at 429 Evergreen Ave, Woodbury, NJ 08096.

It happened on Saturday, May 24, 2014 at 8:30 am in the Dollar General store in Woodbury, NJ. I went in to this store location to pick up a bottle of pancake syrup. I walked past an employee in the aisle, and without provocation, he said, "excuse me would be nice." I turned around and realized he was talking to me. I did not understand why he made such comment. So I ignored him and continued shopping.

Just as I picked up another item and looked for the label of the item, a female employee yelled out and said, "are you trying to mess things up?" I turned around and told her that I was just looking. Then, the same male employee raised his voice and said that I came in the store with an attitude, and said that I walked to the aisle he was there without saying excuse me. I told him that he did not own the aisle and he replied that he was there first. He became so angry that he told the female employee not ring me up. He told me that I cannot buy anything in the store, and ask me to put the bottle of syrup back and leave the store. I immediately left the bottle on the shelf and left. I strongly believe that the employee has no right to pick and choose who they allow to visit the store. Further, he/she has no right to discriminate against any customer who wants to purchase an item in the store.

22 people found this review helpful

Dollar General Store Reviews: What To Know | ConsumerAffairs (33)

lynn of Melbourne, FL

Original review: May 20, 2014

I stopped into the DG on 192 in Melbourne, FL the other day and the manager was so rude and she had been drinking!! I could smell it all over her and heard other customers complain about it as well. She was cussing and stating that she couldn't wait to get out of this store. I asked her her name and she said it was Yowanda or something like that and said, "Why, what ya want" real mean like. Then she started to have a screaming match with an employee in the office area that was so loud she scared a little girl in line. The cashier lady had to keep apologizing for her. It was scary! I'll never go there again ever!!

11 people found this review helpful

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Melvina Ondricka

Last Updated: 10/07/2022

Views: 6317

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (68 voted)

Reviews: 91% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Melvina Ondricka

Birthday: 2000-12-23

Address: Suite 382 139 Shaniqua Locks, Paulaborough, UT 90498

Phone: +636383657021

Job: Dynamic Government Specialist

Hobby: Kite flying, Watching movies, Knitting, Model building, Reading, Wood carving, Paintball

Introduction: My name is Melvina Ondricka, I am a helpful, fancy, friendly, innocent, outstanding, courageous, thoughtful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.